Creativity Reading Response 11: Hands-on

I’ve always considered myself a visual learner. I do better if there is something on the board in class for me to reference or write notes from, or I always ask to look at the instructions or something that someone may mention to me. If I don’t have an image available to me for what I am trying to conceptualize, I will sketch it out or write an outline. Doing that kind of thing gets me into the first steps of being a “creative” as described in Zig Zag by Keith Sawyer

“Creatives make ideas tangible — dashing off sketches, cobbling together creations from duct tape and foam core, shooting quick videos to create personality and shape to a new concept.” – Tom Kelley, IDEO general manager

As much as I like planning and visualizing, sometimes I get so antsy that I need to just jump in and start molding something in some way. Whether it is segmenting a article I am trying to write and moving around notecards in a storyboarding fashion, or creating a prototype of something I am trying to sew or craft, sometimes just looking at it isn’t enough. According to Zig Zag, all of this is part of the eighth step of creativity, the Make step.

But, this make step doesn’t occur in one big leap, it is little steps and written out observations and partial models. I never realized how much I do that in my creative/daily life because my brain can never stay on one idea for too long. Sometimes I stop myself in the middle of my homework to write out a couple sentences I want to include in something I am writing for Vox or sketch out what I want to paint on the cooler I am making for a fraternity’s formal (honestly hour: It takes me so long to write these posts for that very reason). Sometimes this means that my final creative leap doesn’t come as soon as I think it should, but it is all part of the process.

One thought on “Creativity Reading Response 11: Hands-on

  1. Your process is your process, and you can tell from reading the chapter that it falls into the realm of good creative processes. Remember Sir Ken Robinson’s TED talk video from the first day of class and his story of the girl who needed to move to think? If some aspect of your process seems to get in the way, you might consider doing a little creative problem-solving to see if you can find a way to improve. But if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it.

Leave a Reply

