Creativity Reading Response 9: Are we human? Or are we dancers?

I have been dancing since I was about 3 years old. I have been playing sports since I was 5. I love watching sports and most of my praise to my brothers has to do with their immense athletic ability. I have always equated these kind of actions to a kind of shallow brain power. Sure, you have to strategize in sports to win and you have to understand rhythm and body control in dance to be good, but it always seemed more primal and practiced then creatively derived.

Piirto says in Understanding Creativity that “the creativity of dance is the creativity of the body in motion to the sound of music” (348). I now understand what my friends mean when they say they “can’t dance.” Everyone can physically dance , but not everyone understands the creative processes behind choreography to do it well. Music can inspire feelings in everyone, but its not always inspiring movement in everyone. For me, my love of most music is based of off what kind of dancing that comes to mind when I hear it. It’s strange that someone like me, who is so drawn to written word in my career choice with magazines, is drawn to  and successful in the creative forces of dancing. Piirto says that “dancers prefer moving over the static drudgery of documentation,” which explains why people don’t know the names of many dancers and know more about famous visual and literary artists.

But, what Piirto touched on that really clicked with me was how dancers and athletes still touch others through their creative “works.” People are emotionally moved by dance performances and pay money to see strangers or their loved ones performed. I have cried over beautiful videos of ballet or modern dance, and I have cheered and screamed support at bomb videos of Beyonce dance sequences.

Same with sports. I sobbed on the floor during the disappointing 2013 Tiger’s homecoming loss and I definitely have laughed victoriously when my lacrosse team beat our rival. So, thinking or saying that sports are creative or deeply mindful is just wrong. The stereotype of the dumb jock may ring true at times academically, but there is more going on up there than a test can show.

One thought on “Creativity Reading Response 9: Are we human? Or are we dancers?

  1. I love that you connected the reading to your love of dance – I feel very much the same way. Music always makes me want to dance somehow, and I find myself dancing almost everywhere I exist where music also exists. I don’t understand when people “can’t dance” but the reading made me think about it in a different way too. Great reflection!

Leave a Reply

